Board of Trustees

Heather-Anne Irwin

Ms. Irwin had a 17-year career on Bay Street before moving to the Rotman School of Management. Her capital markets experience covers equity capital markets, debt capital markets and investment banking. Ms. Irwin was chair of Governance, Compensation and HR at InnVest REIT. She has very strong financial acumen with experience serving on Audit Committees as well as Risk Management, Corporate Governance and Compensation Committees. Ms. Irwin is Adjunct Professor of Finance at the Rotman School of Management, U of T, the Executive Director of the Canadian Securities Institute Research Foundation, Director of the Ontario Finance Authority, advisory member of Sionna Investment Management, and serves on the Independent Review Committee of Starlight Investment Capital. She is the founding President of and advisor to Women in Capital Markets. Ms. Irwin also has her ICD.D and teaches in the program. She has an MBA from Schulich at York University and Hons B.Sc. Engineering from Queen's University in Engineering Chemistry.

Samir Manji

Mr. Manji is the President and Chief Executive Officer of Artis REIT. Mr. Manji is the founder and CEO of Sandpiper Group, a Vancouver-based real estate private equity firm established in 2016. Mr. Manji has been involved in over $3 billion in hospitality, seniors housing and multifamily residential real estate transactions and has over 25 years of experience in real estate and seniors housing. Mr. Manji was the founder, Chairman and CEO of Amica Mature Lifestyles Inc. (Amica), a TSX-listed company from 1997 until its sale to Ontario Teachers’ Pension Plan in 2015. He is a director of Extendicare Inc, a member of the Young Presidents’ Organization and is the current President of the Ismaili Council for British Columbia. He was recognized in 2006 as a recipient of Canada’s Top 40 Under 40 and was also named the Ernst & Young Entrepreneur of the Year award winner in the business-to-consumer products and services category in British Columbia in 2010. Mr. Manji graduated from the University of Waterloo and received his CPA, CA with KPMG LLP in Toronto.

Jacqueline Moss

Ms. Moss is a corporate director and has held numerous executive and senior management roles with the CIBC over the course of a 17-year period, ranging most recently from the role of executive vice president, strategy & corporate development and member of the operating committee to executive vice president, human resources having responsibility for all global HR functions and senior vice president, general counsel (Canada). During her career, she accumulated extensive business experience in strategy development, corporate governance, legal, Human Resources, talent management and complex mergers and acquisitions matters. Ms. Moss currently serves on the board and is chair of the Compensation, Governance and Nominating Committee of Minto Apartment Real Estate Investment Trust and serves on the board and is the chair of the human resources committee of Ontario Health. She also serves on the board of directors and is chair of the fundraising and development committee of the Dreamland Film and Cultural Center in the United States. Corporate boards on which she has served previously include Investment Management Corporation Ontario (IMCO), CIBC Mellon, and American Century Investments in the United States. Ms. Moss received her Honours Bachelor of Arts degree from Queen’s University and her Bachelor of Laws degree from Western University. She completed the Advanced Management Program at Harvard Business School, holds the ICD.D designation with the Institute of Corporate Directors and holds the GCB.D designation with ESG Competent Boards.

Ben Rodney

Mr. Rodney has been with RFA Capital, a private real estate investment asset management company, since 1997, and is currently Managing Partner, President and Chief Executive Officer. During his time with RFA Capital, Mr. Rodney has structured, priced and performed due diligence on over $15 billion of Canadian commercial mortgages and real estate and is Chair of the Board of Trustees of Nexus REIT. Mr. Rodney holds a Master of Business Administration (MBA) degree from the Richard Ivey School of Business at the University of Western Ontario and a Bachelor of Arts (BA) from the University of Victoria.

Mike Shaikh

Mr. Shaikh brings extensive public and private board experience and experience in finance, oil and gas operations and mergers and acquisitions. Mr. Shaikh is previously Director of the Alberta Securities Commission and Chair of the Calgary Police Commission. He is a Chartered Professional Accountant (FCA, FCPA), having run an accounting practice for over 30 years. Mr. Shaikh served as director of Amica Senior Lifestyles Inc. (formerly Amica Mature Lifestyles Inc.), Hawk Exploration Ltd., Provident Energy Trust, and has served as chair of numerous audit committees, as a member of numerous compensation and corporate governance committees, special committees, and investment committees, and as lead director on several boards.

Lis Wigmore

Ms. Wigmore brings over 30 years of real estate experience and governance expertise. She is a Partner with Hillsdale Investment Management Inc., an independent investment firm with over $4 billion of assets under management. She is also on the board of trustees of Brookfield REIT.  Ms. Wigmore has a proven track record of strategic leadership, operational efficiency and value creation having served on the special committee of Pure Industrial REIT which negotiated the successful sale to Blackstone. Ms. Wigmore is a former trustee and Chair of Governance for Pinchin Ltd., former trustee of Pure Industrial REIT and Invesque Inc. and has senior leadership experience in operations and corporate strategy (as COO of Ipc US REIT and with Reichmann International). She holds a Chartered Director designation and is a member of the Institute of Corporate Directors.
Governance, Nominating & Compensation Committee
Heather-Anne Irwin Member Member
Samir Manji    
Jacqueline Moss   Member
Ben Rodney
Chair of the Board
Mike Shaikh Chair  
Lis Wigmore Member Chair